Skip to main content

Community support and resources

Local elections

Triennial local elections

Elections of members of local authorities are held once every three years, on the second Saturday in October. The last elections were held on 12 October 2019. By-elections are held when a vacancy occurs.

The triennial elections of regional councils, city and district councils, community boards and local boards are held at the same time as elections for district health boards and licensing trusts. Westland District Council’s Election Statistics can be found here.

2019 election results

Mayor: Bruce Smith was declared elected.

Northern Ward: Anna Hart, Jenny Keogan and Jane Neale are declared elected.

Hokitika Ward: David Carruthers, Paul (Tanka) Davidson and Latham Martin are declared elected.

Southern Ward: Ian Hartshorne and Ryan Kennedy are declared elected.

West Coast Regional Council – Westland Regional Constituency: Stuart Challenger and Debra Magner are declared elected.

Development West Coast – Westland Constituency: Christopher John Rea is declared elected.

Ward maps

The District is divided into three Wards for electoral purposes. See the Ward maps below: