Skip to main content

Your Council

Mayor and Councillors

The Westland District Council consists of the Mayor and eight Councillors. These positions are subject to election every three years. Election information for the Westland district can be found here.

Role of elected members

Elected members govern New Zealand Local Authorities by participating in legally constituted meetings of the Council and its Committees. The members collectively exercise the powers, duties, authorities and responsibilities vested in the Local Authority by the Local Government Act 2002 and other Acts.

To be effective in this role, each member has a responsibility to be well informed about the issues on which decisions are required. This does not only mean reading the reports and other documents that are provided but also keeping in contact with the various community groups, residents, businesses etc. that are affected by the decisions made to enable their views to be considered. In the end, however decisions should be made in the best interest of the community as a whole.

Council meetings are held on the fourth Thursday of every month.

Mayor and Councillor photos © Katrina Thornley Photography.


Bruce Smith

021 922 860


Deputy Mayor

David Carruthers

027 208 0263


Northern Ward

Anna Hart

027 294 9678

Jenny Keogan

021 288 1622

Jane Neale

021 027 18810

Hokitika Ward

David Carruthers

027 208 0263

Paul Davidson

021 081 55642

Latham Martin

027 849 1424


Southern Ward

Ian Hartshorne

027 695 6988

Ryan Kennedy

027 753 4300

Iwi representatives

Francois Tumahai

021 425 229​

Paul Madgwick

027 555 4267