Executive Team

Tanya Winter
Chief Executive 

As Chief Executive, Tanya has the overall responsibility to ensure that Westland District Council:

  • Receives good policy advice.
  • Delivers all services to the desired standard.
  • Delivers the Annual and Long Term Plan
  • Complies with the law.

In order to achieve this, Tanya has the responsibility of ensuring that she has the right people to do the job.

Telephone: 03 756 9010

Jim Ebenhoh
Group Manager: Planning, Community & Environment

As Group Manager: Planning, Community and Environment, Jim is responsible for the department of Council which deals with resource and building consents, liquor licensing, environmental health and other registration and licensing. Jim is also responsible for the preparation of the Annual Report, Annual Plan, and Long Term Plan. The Planning, Community and Environment Department also has responsibility for strategic planning issues and the development and maintaining of the District Plan.

Telephone: 03 756 9010

Vivek Goel
Group Manager: District Assets

As Group Manager: District Assets, Vivek's primary responsibility is for operating, maintaining and improving Council's infrastructural assets. These include roading, water services, recreational assets, cemeteries, buildings and solid waste disposal. Vivek is also responsible transportation planning and has overall responsibility for Asset Management, including Rural Fire and Civil Defence.

Telephone: 03 756 9010

Gary Borg
Group Manager: Corporate Services


As Group Manager: Corporate Services, Gary's primary responsibility is to provide effective financial management within the policies adopted by Council. Gary's other responsibilities include the financial inputs into the Annual Report, Annual Plan, and Long Term Plan, and ensuring the Council Controlled Organisations meet their reporting requirements. Gary's team also provides frontline customer service for Council.

Telephone: 03 756 9010

Diane Maitland
Executive Assistant

As Executive Assistant, Diane provides the Mayor and Councillors and the Chief Executive with a comprehensive and efficient administrative and secretarial service and facilitates and maintains a professional link between the Mayor, Councillors, Chief Executive and Executive Team.

Telephone: 03 756 9010

Executive Team Photo

Left to Right - Gary Borg, Diane Maitland, Tanya Winter, Vivek Goel, Jim Ebenhoh.

Photo by Helen Oliver.