Christmas / New Year operating hours

NOTICE OF HOURS FOR THE CHRISTMAS/NEW YEAR PERIOD

Council Offices, 36 Weld Street, Hokitika

The office will close at 12.00 pm on Tuesday 24 December 2019 and re-open at 8.00 am on Monday 6 January 2020.

Building Consents and Planning will be closed for processing from 20 December 2019 to 10 January 2020.

Emergency Calls Only – Water/Sewerage/Drainage/Roading/Animal Control

Telephone 03 756 9010 or 0800 474 834

Westland District Library (20 Sewell Street, Hokitika)

Wednesday 25 December and Thursday 26 December

CLOSED

Friday 27 December, Monday 30 December and Tuesday 31 December

9.30am – 5.30pm

Saturday 28 December

10.00am – 4.00pm

Wednesday 1 January 2020 and Thursday 2 January 2020

CLOSED

Normal hours resume Friday 3 January 2020 at 9.30am

Transfer Stations and Landfills

All the Transfer Stations and Landfills remain closed on Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day.

Kerbside Collection

Wednesday 25 December 2019: No collection – waste collected Thursday 26 December 2019.

Thursday 26 December 2019: Waste collection moved to Friday 27 ​December 2019.

Monday 30 December and Tuesday 31 December 2019: Recycling bins collected as usual

Wednesday 1 January 2020: No collection – recycling collected Thursday 2 January 2020

Thursday 2 January 2020: Recycling collection moved to Friday 3rd ​January 2020.

Normal schedule resumes Monday 6 January 2020.

Please ensure your wheelie bins are out by 8.00am over the holiday period.

Council extends its best wishes to all residents of Westland District and Visitors to the region for a Happy and Safe Festive Season.

Summary: 
Christmas operating hours